Introducing New Technology Into The Classroom

ipads

iPads

A new technology plan is needed at my school to service diverse families in this multi-cultural community of Florida.  My 7th grade Language Arts students are between the ages of eleven and fourteen.  Some are English Language Learners (ELL) and Students with disabilities (SWD) who can benefit from assistive technologies.  The students are culturally diverse students.  75% of the students read on grade level and 25% of the students struggle with reading on grade level.  These students will benefit from the use of iPads or tablets in my classroom.
brilliant1

Introducing iPads into my classroom can provide multiple advantages in addition to what I am already using.  An iPad is a portable computer with a touch screen, or is known as a hand-held computer.  It has all the capabilities as a computer and a camera for face time with each other or photo sharing.  iPads will provide collaboration between students for active learning.  These tablets can be projected onto an interactive projector via wireless capabilities.  My students can improve their typing skills amongst other things.

My 7th grade students will be able to read books, create a Google group account via the Internet; create, record and edit audio files using tablets; navigate the Internet; create virtual flashcards to utilize; create, edit, and save digital video technology such as computer based files and DVDs; and create blogs on the Internet.   iPads are lightweight and mobile with software of significant benefits for diverse learners and students with special needs.  These software applications can address special needs issues dealing with fine motor skills and other cognitive challenges for which traditional computers are ineffective. iPads can be customized to each student needs and gives them a sense of achievement.

hero_image1

iPads would definitely offer relative advantages in my classroom.  Utilizing iPads in my classroom can assist with me various teaching styles.  Instead of lecturing, these tablets can provide visuals for my students while reading and writing.   My students will be engaged and encourage to participate in class.  Home learning will be easier to submit to me thus, eliminating the need for me to physically grade papers by using the pen technology feature on the iPad.  These iPads are equipped with all the functions of a PC making the technology integration an easier one.  The interactive feature of an iPad provides assistive technology that will enable my 7th grade students with impairments or disabilities to perform difficult or impossible tasks.

cameras_top

The use of iPads in my classroom will be a tool to assist me with instruction once purchased and made available to my 7th grade class for the upcoming school year.  There is a plethora of educational information found in the Internet to be accessed with the use of iPads.  Through the use of iPads, my students will be able to increase problem solving skills and gain new information in content area.  Other teachers can also benefit with the use of iPads in their classrooms.

Teachers can use the below Instructional Resources to assist with classroom management:

 

The following videos are very informative guide for the use of iPads in the classroom.

 

Videos

iPads In The Classroom

Apple Education Learning With iPads

Apple TV and iPads in the Classroom

Leave a comment